top of page

Paving a New Path


So what now? 2018 has started, but 2017 was just last month. The Christmas tree has been taken down. The decorations have been put away and its back to the ways things were.

One of my goal this year is to blog or work on my blog one hour a day. It sounds like a lot of time to me, since after coming home from work I only have 3 hours to spear. Yet one hour is so little time in comparison to a whole day. My mind is completely boggled by this idea. Let's just keep going shall we?

Do more of what makes you happy!

 

Your goal is for you. No one else. Focus on yourself.

What are some aspirations you have for the new year?

Here I have for you a list of things I wanted for myself this year. And there, it became my 2018 resolution. I started out with categories to get my brainwaves flowing. Since typically I like to do activities, I started out with health. We are given one body to nourish while being on earth. And that is something I take for granted sometimes. As a previous grad student that focused on exercise, I need to put that 50k to good use, and be a symbol of what I studied.

Fitness & Health Goals

  • Finish the 6 pack of Peaks (Spend more time in nature)

  • Learn to hand stand, do more yoga (Monday Yoga)

  • Meditation once a week (Meditations Mondays)

  • Average 10 minute mile for half marathon

  • Tennis Thursdays

  • 5k steps/day

Be Realistic

 

Make achievable goals. Make goals that you personally connect with.

Rhyme and Reasons:

The 6 pack of peaks was slightly a goal last year. I basically want to finish it before I leave the Southern California area. Although, I have no idea when that would be or if it would really happen. Once again, I got injured from doing the last trail head and therefore, Lawson and I had put a hold on finishing the 6 peaks. The first 7 miles were great, but for some reasons I wasn't able to hike down without the feeling of my knees splitting in half. For the rest of the hike down. Torture. This year I'm confident there will be no more injuries. Or at least I hope not!

Why a hand stand? This task has always felt daunting and impossible. I could never do this, my mind would say. I'm trying to prove to myself that I am wrong. I don't want to live in the negativity of thinking I'm not strong enough. Or I can't. I want to try, try some more, and keep trying. Until I can do it.

Meditation. This is a practice I started in 2017 with the hopes of being able to fall into a routine before the new year. I knew that if I wanted to established a behavior change, I can start whenever and I don't need to wait for the new year. I was also curious to see if this is something that I would benefit from if I had added to my daily routine. It was so helpful, and so much more. Another blog post on meditation to come.

10 minute miles seems very slow to most runners. But to me, I think that might be the fastest I can do for now (I'm currently at an 11-12 minute pace per mile). I felt like I came such a long way from the onset of my plantar fasciitis. It's healed 90% for the time being. Randomly when I'm standing on hardwood or tiles floors and or other things for far too long, the plantar facia will flare up again. Its uncontrollable and there are no warnings for when it does. Yikes. Just keep swimming, just keep swimming, ... as Dory will sing.

Lawson and I have tennis lessons once a week for the time being. I like it for the mere fact that I need to show up be at the tennis courts every Thursday at 6:00pm. Tennis is something that I do love to play. I remember back then in high school where my friends and I would hit the courts for 3-5 hours a day! I was never tired and I always had fun!

Make time for it

 

Tell me in the comments what your goals are? If you don't have any new years resolution, what are your month to month goals or even long term goal? Are you venturing on a new path? Or continuing on the same one you were on before?

Tags:

bottom of page