top of page

Reflecting on 2017


Today is the first day of the new year and 10 hours into 2018. Although, let's admit, it's 3 waking hours and that is what really counts. I wanted to write this post because as 2018 approaches, while in December, I kept thinking 2017 has came and gone. It passed by so quickly like a blink of an eye. All I could think about was what happened. Did I do anything productive? Did I live life? Strangely enough, Instagram was the one that reminded me that I did do something and I did live life. Its just there isn't enough time to reflect back and look at what has happened. Since typically we tend to move forward with our life once its done.

One of my characteristic is that I constantly try to focus on what's next. Last year, one of my focus was to live in the now. Be present. Funny enough, I feel like reflection is just as important. It let us settle in our thoughts. It allows the memories simmer. I'm sitting here looking at my 2017 planner. Pondering about how to write this blog. Should I just highlight the main points? The thing I was most proud of? The biggest changes of 2017? Or go month by month even if there wasn't much of anything going on that month?

Some things I noticed as I wait to figure out how to start my reflection... Halfway through the year I had switched from planner to phone. I noticed that I don't seem to really know whats going on when I had switch to technology (using my phone as a planner). This is me rambling now. But also, when I had switch from cash to credit card. I don't know the impact of cash in hand vs just swiping my credit card. It was kind of the same concept as technology advanced. Things that are more tangible leaves more of an imprint on life. I remember things more clearly when I can touch it, sense it. When they're in the "cloud" so to speak, life passes by so quickly. Not sure if everyone follows my thinking on this concept.

Let's go back and being with January 2017 (is that weird to say)... I can tell by the way that I had marked how I should train for my half marathon means my plantar fasciitis is still bothering me. The goal that month was really to be able to run 3 miles without pain.

February: We went to Iceland! One of the best trip. Why was it the best trip? This was when I realized that vacation is not vacation unless you are relaxing! We should have another name for vacation when you're being a tourist and exploring. Because it feels like work and it feels like learning and it feels very fast and quick pace. Iceland was being outside in nature, enjoying food (when there was good food), and relaxing in the geothermal spas that we had a chance to explore! I loved every second of it! Myra and I also had our first #DOREME time together!

March: We continued onto London! This was really nice. Although I only been in London for 1 year its like my third home but really my second home. I learned so much there, made some friends and feels very nostalgic when I go back. It was a country where I learned a lot on my own. I learned that I can be on my own but also love having people I care about around. I learned what traveling is about and how other countries are suffering. I learned how to get around and not to be afraid of traveling and new adventures. I also finally learned, how to really utilized public transportation. You will learn if you need to! What's that called... survival instinct? We watched THRONES the musical and it was hilarious. Note, please watch more things that make you laugh! :)

April (it looks like I'm going month by month! Good for me, Boring for you) FINALLY! I reached my goal for 2016. Complete, finish a half marathon! We did our half marathon in ZION and it felt GREAT! Since the trip kind of threw us off and my feet definitely was not at 100% I still finished and I am proud of myself for sticking through it. Lawson took us to the Carrio Plains National Monument! This fella loves me. We took some pictures for my blog that I will eventually use! It was called the SUPER BLOOM! I applied to school this month and got in. Thinking that I wanted to be a physiologist. But, thought about schooling and years it would take and money and time. Officially said NO. First time I got my hair SILVER. I still love it!

May! We took an Adams Family vacation to Yellowstone! There was so much goodness here! We vowed though, never to drive more than 10 hours for vacation. It just felt like so much sitting in the car! Never again right! We almost got eaten by a bison since the mother was trying to protect the baby bison. Saw a bear eat the heck out of a coyote. Saw lots of animals I never seen before. What I learned? We really like to see animals in the wild. Really in their natural environment.

June! We visited the Whites in Tahachapi with the Strattons. Went to Lake Havasu! We biked in the very hot heat and it was barely 3 miles but I was a melting snowman.

July. I should write about my proposal, but I think I will just link it after the wedding and link out website! Got engaged at Idyllwild! Went to Allen's birthday bash in Cal Poly and also went to Sarah and West wedding near apple hill.

August, Lawsons Family Reunion and also did our engagement shot with Caleb and Angela Jean Wong got engaged at Cal Poly!

September! Vacationing with Michelle and Andrew! We went to visit Mr Chad and Katrina in Vancouver! We didn't do much, it was a lot of driving around the city but I did have fun. It felt relaxing but definitely if we go back, I want go to Whistler! Poor Lawson got sick most of the trip after he asked Chad to be one of his groomsmen. Also went camping at Big Bear Lake with Eric Johnson for the first time and it was SUPER fun! Loved it! Who knew Eric likes getting lost? LOL I meant he likes to keep going and going and going. It was such a blast!

October... Its funny, so I keep wondering, what did we do this month? We went to Santa Barbara!? It was for Lawson's Father and his twin to celebrate their 60th birthday! We camped at Joshua Tree ( for the 5th time or so haha) with David and Kristie and took some more engagement photos! Disneyland with Chad and Katrina and ALI WONG that same weekend!

November, we started TENNIS! Lawson learns very quickly and will probably beat me soon enough in our matches. Hosted Thanksgiving in a way... haha

December! Christmas in Sacramento!

Okay, lets round up. My favorite moments definitely was Iceland! Winner winner. It also seems that I got tired of writing near the end.. haha! But I'm glad wrote this! I feel like I should do this every year! To remind myself that every year is a good year. We just need to look back and remember the good times.

Tags:

bottom of page